Foster Kids Need You …. THIS WEEKEND

June 11, 2013 at 1:10 am 24 comments

***Please watch the video at the end!  It is so powerful!***


.

FROSTY’S FOR FOSTER KIDS!!

June 15th – June 16th

Buy a Frosty at Wendy’s this coming weekend

and

50 cents goes to the

Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption!

dtf

OMG.  YES!

I love Frosty’s and you should too!

Besides all the AWESOME Frostys, — the original Chocolate and Vanilla, the Frosty Shakes,  the Frosty Floats, the Caramel Apple Frosty Parfait, and the AMAZING OREO Frosty Parfait — they now have a Waffle Cone Frosty!

FrostyConeAboutWendys

chocolate_oreo_frosty_parfait_plus_vanilla1

If all the readers who are still subscribed to this blog and all the others who read it, drive thrku-xlargeu Wendy’s this weekend and get a frosty or two or three (the parfaits are really quite small!) … I bet several thousand dollars would be donated!!!

…. STEP UP and EAT UP!

.

The Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption is America’s only nonprofit public charity dedicated exclusively to finding permanent homes for the hundreds of thousands of children waiting in foster care to be adopted.  They work in Canada too!

They find homes for kids like I was …

….and they do it right!

.

Thank them this weekend….

 

.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Required Reading for April and May What the fuck is with all the foster kid movies?

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Another Time  |  June 11, 2013 at 1:22 am

    Mmmmm Frostys!!! I keep meaning to try the waffle cone one. I’ll have to get me a Frosty after work on Saturday!!

    I was gonna ask if they are still tiny but you all ready answered that! :)

    Reply
  • 2. a mom  |  June 11, 2013 at 1:30 am

    Excellent! I noticed a promo card while there today…getting a Frosty…but didn’t get to read it all. Great post!

    The kids will be thrilled. They want them all the time.

    Smiles for and because…

    Reply
  • 3. Kelly  |  June 11, 2013 at 1:33 am

    Thanks for the reminder! I have not seen any TV ads yet?
    I love the apple parfait (assume too healthy for you LT, with the apples!).

    This video is outstanding, and as you said, very powerful.

    Reply
  • 4. sageplant  |  June 11, 2013 at 1:34 am

    I don’t live anywhere near a Wendy’s but I will make a donation to the Dave Thomas Foundation on your recommendation ..K…

    Reply
  • 5. Mary  |  June 11, 2013 at 1:56 am

    I’ll be stocking up the freezer! *8) xo

    Reply
  • 6. lee1978  |  June 11, 2013 at 6:13 am

    Would you believe I have never had a Frosty? But I will get one for me and for each of our kids this weekend.

    Reply
  • 7. Kathy  |  June 11, 2013 at 6:13 am

    Thank you LT for sharing! I will too, and you are awesome! :)

    Reply
  • 8. bikelaura  |  June 11, 2013 at 7:25 am

    I’ll take my family. Thanks for the reminder!

    Reply
  • 9. Ritaritasoronen  |  June 11, 2013 at 8:08 am

    Thank you for the generous post and comments – you are a great friend to the Foundation!

    Reply
  • 10. The Bair Foundation  |  June 11, 2013 at 8:56 am

    Took a former foster child out to dinner last night to catch up… a girl who aged out of the system after being horribly molested as a teen. Now, at age 22 she is expecting her first child and she has no support system, no mom or dad to be grandparents to her child. We have to do better for these kids too, not just the ones remaining in foster care.

    Older children, teenagers, kids with medical and behavioral needs… ALL of these kids deserve a family and a loving home. At Bair, we say yes to these kids. We’re getting our frostys this weekend – and just because this is such a great cause we might go back and have TWO!!! Thanks for sharing L T!! :)

    Reply
  • 11. Angela  |  June 11, 2013 at 9:05 am

    Thanks so much LT – the folks at Wendy’s really care about getting children adopted – especially children waiting in foster care. And all of the WWK recruiters (and supervisors) and the Foundation staff work really hard every day to make sure that ALL kids get adopted and truly believe that unadoptable is unacceptable.

    PS – I will make sure I get my Frosty this weekend! :)

    Reply
  • 12. caroline  |  June 11, 2013 at 10:16 am

    Perfect excuse to try the new waffle cone! One vanilla and one chocolate. Thanks LT!

    Reply
  • 13. Vertical Mom  |  June 11, 2013 at 11:15 am

    OREO PARFAIT?! How did I not know about this before?!

    Reply
  • 14. Amy Weslink  |  June 11, 2013 at 12:26 pm

    LT, you are priceless. For those of us who watch our waistline, the fact that they are “really quite small” is a bonus! :)

    It’s hot here, so this will be a perfect treat this weekend.

    Reply
  • 15. Sue  |  June 11, 2013 at 5:21 pm

    :grin:

    Reply
  • 16. Tessa Smith  |  June 11, 2013 at 5:59 pm

    Great video…I will be buying a Frosty, or two this weekend!

    Reply
  • 17. Ella Victoria  |  June 11, 2013 at 11:41 pm

    Sure! Will buy 3 Frosties LT. I love it, too!

    Reply
  • 18. Dinah  |  June 12, 2013 at 12:21 am

    I am going to sit down and write you a long catch up email. Rest up so you can get though it in one sitting!

    Reply
  • 19. rachel ebert  |  June 12, 2013 at 4:52 am

    Thank you! Even though mine let me stay within my family, I would never have had the life I have today without my foster families! They really made a difference in my life!

    Reply
  • 20. Concerned FM  |  June 12, 2013 at 3:00 pm

    Will do!

    XOXO

    Reply
  • 21. Pat  |  June 13, 2013 at 1:42 pm

    Thanks for posting this, LT! I’m so glad you’re back. I posted it on FB and asked all my friends (many are social workers and child welfare attorneys) to share it – so hopefully lots of people will learn about it and enjoy Frosties this weekend. I love the new cones!! ((Hugs))

    Reply
  • 22. songsforsilences  |  June 15, 2013 at 1:38 pm

    You’re so awesome!
    I admire you.

    Reply
  • 23. Will  |  June 16, 2013 at 1:40 am

    LT – Had 2 for you today!

    Reply
  • 24. Kathy  |  June 16, 2013 at 8:53 pm

    LT, I was thinking about you today and said a prayer. I think you are such a strong young woman. I am going through a home study now and you are helping me to understand foster children. It is good to hear it from your prospective and I thank you. Hope you are doing well. Keep the blogs coming. :) We need you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


COPYRIGHT NOTICE

This blog is copyrighted.
I know that means you can't take my writing without my permission. If you do, something can happen.
Plus, that is just a real shitty thing to do -- take someone's thoughts -- so don't do it!

I am happy if you want to use my writing to help those involved in the foster care system, but please, leave a comment asking if it is ok and letting me know.

Peace.

Copyrighted 2009-2013

WAKE UP FOLKS

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

This blog is copyrighted.
I know that means you can't take my writing without my permission. If you do, something can happen.
Plus, that is just a real shitty thing to do -- take someone's thoughts -- so don't do it!

I am happy if you want to use my writing to help those involved in the foster care system, but please, leave a comment asking if it is ok and letting me know.

Peace.

Copyrighted 2009-2013


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 851 other followers

