banana slushys pave the way to green bikes

January 8, 2015 at 6:22 pm 68 comments

.wristjack3

So, for those of you who do and don’t remember, I used to ride my bike all over the place.  It was my main mode of transportation… until I got hit by a car in spring 2011.  Recall then that I broke my wrist and had surgery and a wristjack, an external fixator device,  on my arm for months.  Remember that?  If not, here is a picture of what my arm sort-of looked like…. Remember I also had a more private problem with peeing, thanks to that ass that hit me.

 

Well, believe it or not, since that time I have not gotten back on a bike.  No interest…

produits_sp_banane1…..until yesterday.  I was walking downtown, going to get a banana slushy and I saw this amazing green bike in a local bike store.  It was sweet.  It was a a green trek hybrid — good for the road and good for park trails.  I was memorized by the bike and swear, it was calling my name.

I decided to hold off on getting my banana slushy and go into the bike store.  I didn’t want any help, I just wanted to look.  I stood there admiring this GREEN bike when a friendly salesperson walked up to me:

Friendly Salesperson:  “That’s the Trek 3500, nice eh?”trek-3500-copy-211813-1

ME:  “ah….well…. I like the color”

FS:  ” Where do you ride?”

ME:  “well… i dont exactly.  i used to ride all over the city and on park trails, but then, well…. i got slammed by a car”

FS:  “oh wow.  injured pretty bad?”

ME:  “yeah… it’s a long story…. <pause> ….. i like the color.”

FS: “it’s a good bike to start out on again….”

ME:  ….<pausing>  “i guess”

FS:  “you want to take a spin on it around back?”

Every bike store I have ever been to lets you take a “spin around back”…. what happens if someone steals the bike?  Seriously…. I always wondered about this….

ME:  “dunno”…. “just kind of looking right now.”

FS:  “ok.  come find me if you want to try it out.”

ME:  “yeah, thanks”price tag with copy space

I stood there examining the green bike.  I got closer to it and put my hands on the handlebars.  It’s been along time since I had any hand on any part of a bike.  It felt comfortable in my hands, but I let go.  I turned the tag to look at the price… seemed pretty reasonable for a bike shop

I’ve never been intoindex “brands” or anything… but color that is a completely different ballgame… anything green catches my eye.  Green paint, green walls, green shoes, green clothes, anything.  Yellow and most earthy colors are cool too…

As most of you know, I am generally broke except for that remaining bike settlement money and my job paycheck which flucuates by how much I get my ass to work.

I stood there and couldn’t decide if I could justify a bike.  Taking it for a spin around back would help, but it wouldn’t answer all my questions…

1) Can i ride on the streets again?

2) Can i find the freedom and joy i used to while cruising down through the city streets listening to the wind blow past my head?

3) Can i get past remembering the fleeting second when the car hit my bike and i hit the ground?  all my control was gone.

4) Can i get past wearing a helmet on my messy hair?  i didnt before, but after being hit… it’s one thing being dead, it’s another thing getting a severe brain injury.Power-of-a-Whisper

I stood there for probably 30 minutes  … faintly hearing that green bike whispering “LT — ride me.”

But I didn’t.  I thanked the friendly saleperson and told him I would be back….maybe this week, maybe next week, maybe a month… maybe a year…but sometime.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Dr. Val on vacation my messy hair has fears too

68 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jordynn28  |  January 8, 2015 at 6:58 pm

    Really hope you get that bike. You deserve it for damn sure. Green is a pretty tasty color.

    Reply
    • 2. LooneyTunes  |  January 9, 2015 at 7:23 am

      maybe i will. it is pretty cool looking 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Foster Mom in Training  |  January 8, 2015 at 7:01 pm

    You are strong, LT. 😊

    Reply
  • 4. Foster Mom in Training  |  January 8, 2015 at 7:02 pm

    You are strong, LT. 😄

    Reply
  • 5. lee1978  |  January 8, 2015 at 7:02 pm

    My youngest son shares your love of green too! He has a green bike. I wish there was a way for you to try it out and see how it would make you feel.

    Reply
    • 6. LooneyTunes  |  January 9, 2015 at 7:24 am

      your son has good taste!
      there should be a way to test it out and bring it back… like a rental fee or something.
      riding it in back of the store is not the same as on the street… you know?
      peace.

      Reply
  • 7. Karen  |  January 8, 2015 at 7:07 pm

    Hello. I am reading your blog because I am an Art Therapist and I work with a lot of children, most of them are in foster homes. Your blog has helped me in my work. Get the bike!!!! Hugs Karen

    Reply
    • 8. LooneyTunes  |  January 9, 2015 at 7:25 am

      cool! i am glad foster kids are getting art therapy.
      i think it can be very helpful!!
      peace.

      Reply
  • 9. Brenda  |  January 8, 2015 at 8:16 pm

    Hello,

    I used to work for Trek Bikes in Waterloo, Wisconsin. The original owner (now deceased) was one of the nice people that made it. I also bought by color, my first bicycle being a sea-foam green. Best bike ever. Hope you can get back on, and good idea about the helmet. I was a nurse in picu, some terrible moments involving people riding without them. That’s one of the things in life, overcoming all our own personal stuff.
    Brenda

    Reply
    • 10. LooneyTunes  |  January 9, 2015 at 7:26 am

      the bike was really nice. i dont know alot about bike brands, but it seemed like a really well-made bike.
      the helmet will be hard because i was used to riding with my messy hair blowing all over…
      thanks for your note.
      peace.

      Reply
  • 11. bluejuliej  |  January 8, 2015 at 8:42 pm

    Well, I will keep my fingers crossed that you decide what’s best for yourself — to ride or not.
    (I’ve never ever been brave enough to ride a bike on the road with cars and buses. Way too scary).

    Reply
    • 12. LooneyTunes  |  January 9, 2015 at 7:30 am

      im still thinking about it. its kind of thrilling riding in traffic at high speeds, but kind of crazy too, so i understand your fear.
      peace.

      Reply
  • 13. onemorewithus  |  January 8, 2015 at 8:42 pm

    Nice… A nice thought. Contemplating a bike…
    I would feel afraid too. After I hurt myself skiing I have never had the same confidence again. The moment of the fall comes back to me very quickly when I am in that position again. I did get back to it after many years (never the same, though), and it was nice walking right over the trauma. But I think your case was much more difficult then mine.

    Still, it would be fun if you went back to biking. I got myself one last Summer. A used one, $50!! Blue and a place for a basket. Old style bike that makes a squeaky noise when I ride over bumps. I love it! The feeling of riding is freeing, really.

    If you go back and choose the bike, then give small tries, little by little. It could be a new friend for you. Mine is 🙂 I named her Corrie, after my hero of faith Corrie Ten Boom.

    Gloria

    Reply
    • 14. LooneyTunes  |  January 9, 2015 at 7:31 am

      i have never been skiing, but want to one day! it looks so amazing and peaceful being on a mountain with snow and trees.
      pretty cool.
      im still thinking about the bike. i wish i could rent it for awhile and see what happens…
      peace.

      Reply
  • 15. bikelaura  |  January 8, 2015 at 8:57 pm

    That is so awesome! And I am very impressed with your sales guy. There are some awesome green bikes this season. No pressure, but bike colors change every year. Your sales guy understands if you need time going through the steps to get back on a bike. Congrats!!! Step one is done! I continue to pray for you.

    Reply
    • 16. LooneyTunes  |  January 9, 2015 at 7:33 am

      yeah, the sales guy was very cool. not pushy or forceful which i liked. if i get the bike i will try to find him so he gets the commission.
      by your name, i bet you bike alot. i am still thinking about it. may take KC with me to look. i wish there was a way to rent the bike for alittle and see what happens.
      peace.

      Reply
  • 17. Stephanie  |  January 8, 2015 at 10:09 pm

    Heck yes, green bikes! I love that you found something that you love!! Count Stephanie and Tim in to contribute to the bike fund (I know your not asking, we’re offering). 🙂

    Reply
    • 18. LooneyTunes  |  January 9, 2015 at 7:36 am

      thanks for the thought. it is a generous offer. but, all these years i have never taken anything from the blog world.
      it seems to keep it “cleaner”… that i am just writing “because” and not to get things as a result. i have been offered $$, cookies, sneakers, asked to write a book, and now a bike fund! i hope you get it… that it just keeps it about the blog and not the $$ or other stuff…
      i can get my ass to work more and get the $$… – LOL
      peace.

      Reply
      • 19. Stephanie  |  January 9, 2015 at 8:21 am

        Yeah ok, that makes sense. Ok get your ass to work then ;).

        Reply
        • 20. Linka  |  January 9, 2015 at 8:29 pm

          Stephanie, perhaps you could find a local foster child who would love to have a bike, and then go with them and get them one, (the one you see them do the same things LT described in her post, lol!). Then, if is okay with LT, tell the foster mom about LT’s blog…there were several individuals who donated money for bikes for us to use as give-aways at our annual foster care Christmas banquet. It would have been nice if we could have found enough funds for all of them to have new bikes (some of them do, I know have bikes-but probably used). but, you know, each one reach one…like LT does us! blessings!

          Reply
  • 21. truegritton  |  January 9, 2015 at 2:22 am

    I think you made a break thru! My son was hang gliding and he crashed, the first thing he did was go on it one more time, just so his fear wouldn’t rule him. He sold it after that, too close to death I guess. But you have so many good experiences with your bike! That may help counter the bad. It’s not like a car hits you every time!

    It brings back childbirth for me, the first time you give birth, you’re afraid because you don’t know what to expect. The next time, you’re afraid because you do know what to expect! Still, every birth is unique. Sometimes they’re hard and sometimes they’re easier, and the circumstances also change. The joy of having a child makes the memories of the pain more bearable for most of us, that is why we risk having another child even after a particularly frightening or painful experience.

    Perhaps you will yet try out that bike in a safe place, This may entail more than just the trauma of the accident, it may also trigger security issues related to having a little bit of money for emergencies. That is also a trauma, being totally without any dependable security or assistance you can trust. Be gentle with yourself, and remember trying it someplace safe, doesn’t lock you into buying it. It is ok to think about all of the feelings it evokes in you, and take your time. You are awesome!

    Reply
    • 22. LooneyTunes  |  January 9, 2015 at 7:42 am

      thanks for you note. wow hang-gliding!
      you make a good comparison with having kids and riding bikes. it gets more familiar and “safe” the more you do it.
      i wish there was a way to try it out for a couple days and see what happens… sort of like rent the bike.
      im still thinking about it.
      if i get my ass to work more, i can make the money to pay for the bike. i dont buy alot of stuff…
      peace.

      Reply
      • 23. truegritton  |  January 12, 2015 at 4:02 am

        I wish you lived closer, I have a new bike that no one has even ridden on, I would let you ride it, and even keep it if you liked it. Unfortunately, it isn’t a beautiful green one. That one sounds really cool.

        Reply
        • 24. LooneyTunes  |  January 12, 2015 at 9:17 pm

          thanks for the thought. im still thinking about bikes…
          i might rent one for a little and try it out.
          maybe you could donate yours to a shelter…if you dont use it.
          peace.

          Reply
  • 25. sageplant  |  January 9, 2015 at 3:00 am

    It would be a big step and brave to get back on a bike. It could bring you some good rides and be something different and the color would be “you”. If you can use some of the money that you got for the original bike accident it seems right.

    Well. One of the kids is running a high fever so that’s on my mind. Most likely a 24 hour thing. He hardly complained about it so it came on like “bam!”….lots of TLC, fluids and sleep. Ok, that’s what I should do.

    Hope to hear about you riding a bike, I can visualize it!

    Reply
    • 26. LooneyTunes  |  January 9, 2015 at 7:44 am

      im still thinking about it. you are right that it makes sense to use the $$ from the settlement to get a new bike.
      i could also get my ass to work more and make the money over time.
      hope you don’t get sick too.
      peace.

      Reply
  • 27. yoyoyoliYoli  |  January 9, 2015 at 3:28 am

    Yes Yes go buy it go ride it! But for sure buy a good helmet too. And be careful. Maybe for starters just ride in the parks away from cars.. 😉 have fun you will so good getting back on a bike again.. !!

    Reply
    • 28. LooneyTunes  |  January 9, 2015 at 7:46 am

      im still thinking about it. i might take KC to look at it. i live in the city, so i would have to ride through the city to get to the parks – LOL
      i cant imagine putting a helmet on my messy, free hair! 🙂

      Reply
  • 29. eblanford  |  January 9, 2015 at 8:53 am

    Is there a bike rental place in your city? I have seen them in other places. Might be something to look into. That way you could try it and see how it goes! But awesome first step LT!!!!

    Reply
    • 30. LooneyTunes  |  January 10, 2015 at 11:34 am

      thats a good idea. there is a bike rental place… usually for tourists, but i bet i could use one and see how it feels.
      thanks! 🙂

      Reply
  • 31. sjjnks  |  January 9, 2015 at 10:59 am

    Green and Yellow! See? You got GREAT taste. You should be a Green Bay Packers fan!

    So…I remember an old blog post when KC was taking you to bike shops and you two were goofing off in the store…okay….SHE was goofing off! But I bet she would LOVE to go back with you and check it out.

    Also, ask that salesguy what the return policy is. Maybe you *could* try it out for a few days and if you don’t like it, return it? Worth a shot.

    Reply
    • 32. LooneyTunes  |  January 10, 2015 at 11:36 am

      hey, you have a great memory! wow! that was the blog about KC getting that goofy bike built for two and how embarrassed i was.
      that blog got taken down along time ago too…
      you have been reading for awhile!
      if i had prizes, i would give you one for remembering that.
      that place might rent me a bike to try and see how it goes…
      peace

      Reply
  • 33. AnnMarie Johnson (@selphiras)  |  January 9, 2015 at 11:04 am

    Green’s my favorite color, too! I hope you do try it out! I have a Trek Lime (in lime green) which is a cool (to me!) auto-shift 3-speed bike. My DH calls it my granny bike, but it is a little heftier than a cruiser.

    Reply
    • 34. LooneyTunes  |  January 10, 2015 at 11:37 am

      lime green must be awesome! everyone can see you coming!
      it’s only a granny bike if you have a granny basket on the front that is white. LOL
      🙂

      Reply
  • 35. KP  |  January 9, 2015 at 1:37 pm

    LT, I bet you could find a sweet green helmet. 🙂

    Also, sometimes helmets have a little visor built in, which is nice when you’re riding towards the sun.

    I would be really scared to get back on a bike after an accident, but I do love the feeling of riding around the city with the wind in my hair. (My hair is short and messy, and it doesn’t love helmets, but I wear one for protection.) Hope you get your new green bike!

    Reply
    • 36. LooneyTunes  |  January 10, 2015 at 11:39 am

      gotta get a helmet cause like i said i have to protect the little brains i have.
      i was lucky when i got hit that my head was ok.
      i was thinking that maybe a helmet would fix my messy hair… but then you just have hat hair, which…. well… is worse, don’t you think?

      does your hair go back to being messy when you take your helmet off… with a few shakes. -LOL

      Reply
  • 37. ritalee8383  |  January 9, 2015 at 7:56 pm

    Green is my favorite color!!!

    Do it.

    🙂

    Reply
    • 38. LooneyTunes  |  January 10, 2015 at 11:44 am

      it’s a great color isnt it? it has so many shades that are all amazing…
      it’s weird that i dont eat green veggies — LOL
      peace.

      Reply
  • 39. Linka  |  January 9, 2015 at 8:17 pm

    Oh, LT, love, thank you for sharing how you felt looking at the color, and how you feel about color…reason? I felt a definitely good feeling as I read your words…in fact, I felt kind of a cool (positive) jolt, and then a glow came over me, and I realized I was grinning…I knew exactly what you felt looking at that green bike-I have colors and things-like you and this bike, that do that for me, too. The main thing though, is, I felt a connection with you like I have never felt before. So I dare to ask you to do something. And I want to ask you if when you think back about that moment in time, did you feel any kind of an inner ache-a longing, no, a yearning, for the bike? A deep down feeling? It might have been fleeting, but did you feel it?

    Now, I ask you to read the following out loud to yourself:

    1) I CAN ride on the streets again!
    2) I CAN find the freedom and joy i love while cruising down through the city streets listening to the wind blow past my headI
    3) I CAN get past remembering the fleeting second, just a nano-piece of time, when the car hit my bike and i hit the ground? I take my control back!
    4) I CAN get past wearing a helmet on my messy hair! I can always get a haircut that will make messy hair look cute!

    If you need to, read it out loud several times….then, go get that bike!

    (Oh, I did not, like I usually do, read all the other comments first, so I may be back, lol!)

    Reply
    • 40. LooneyTunes  |  January 10, 2015 at 11:48 am

      hm.. good question. i did feel a excitement when i went into the store and first stood by the bike. kind of like walking into something new for the first time. but then the thought of actually riding it jolted me back and i stood there some more.

      i like your positive affirmations! except for #4 cause no-one touches the messy hair. think artistic/creative messy hair, which nothing has ever helped it… i have never been to a real haircut place.. so maybe that would. maybe someday on that.
      maybe if the bike helmet ruins my messy hair, i will have to get it cut…. 🙂
      thanks
      peace.

      Reply
  • 41. Scoopy  |  January 9, 2015 at 8:24 pm

    I say make a goal for yourself “If I go to work every day for two weeks straight I earn the bike” that way you can feel good about the purchase and you can reclaim that moment you lost control. I am rooting for you and The Green Goblin (my suggested name for it)

    Reply
    • 42. LooneyTunes  |  January 10, 2015 at 11:49 am

      yeah a new week at work starts tomorrow and i asked for more hours than the past weeks when i was hibernating.
      i dont get the award for attendance at work… im better than i used to be, but still not perfect.
      luckily my boss is flexible and forgiving and “gets me”… so, i have not been fired!
      good idea.
      🙂

      Reply
      • 43. Scoopy  |  January 11, 2015 at 4:34 am

        good luck! keep us posted!

        Reply
        • 44. LooneyTunes  |  January 11, 2015 at 3:14 pm

          will do… 🙂

          Reply
  • 45. Linka  |  January 9, 2015 at 8:47 pm

    Ok, I’m back…I think that you might be able to make some kind of arrangement with the bike shop. The sales guy was a good connection for you, and there is no harm in asking-the worst they will do is say no, the best, is work a way for you to be sure…the other replies have some good advice, too..you could probably ride with out a helmet in the parks…

    I know I have been absent for a while…but what I change I notice in you!…your post was so positive, had such good energy…I heard a gentler approach and perspective on the situation than many you have told us about…the whole emotional set of your post makes me feel that this may be a really good time for you to venture back…at least to bike paths (you kind of scare me riding like that in traffic, but I can also see how much of a kick it could be, lol). Just my thoughts.

    ps. I have a new class of foster parents-to-be starting this month. As usual, I plan on telliing them about you, and this blog, as well as give them copies of your posts on what makes a good foster mom and foster dad.and then as we go along through the pre-service, copies of your posts on holidays, and birthdays, and …..is that still okay with you? I share with them about finding your blog, how you touched my heart…your wisdom and your pain…may I still do that? Damn, woman, you REALLY should write a book. Just putting all you have already done, together, would be enough….then you wouldn’t have to bust your, um, derriere, as much, lol!!!!! Blessings!

    Reply
    • 46. LooneyTunes  |  January 10, 2015 at 11:54 am

      i noticed you were MIA since you have been reading for awhile.
      i was sort of MIA too and also pulling alot of my blog down because of people.
      thanks for mentioning the change. i think people who have been reading for sometime can see differences, the new people not so much. like 4 years ago i wrote about suicide all the time, now only once and awhile, etc.

      you can always share anything for training classes. if it helps people use it.
      i dont write a book because i want people to have access to the material. everyone that wants it.
      if its a book, people have to pay money.
      someone said i could donate the money (because i dont want it), but its more about people having access to stuff at their fingertips.

      out of curiousity, how many foster parents to be do you usually get in your classes?

      thanks.
      peace.

      Reply
      • 47. Linka  |  January 16, 2015 at 11:03 pm

        Hi LT, sometimes I start with a class of just four or five, sometimes as many as twenty. Because I push self-assessment, and try to give as realistic a picture of foster care as I can (basically that it is a lot of work and commitment to do it “right”), AND, that I will be doing a very thorough and probing homestudy- some of them drop out, which is okay by me, as I figure that way, the ones who are there for the wrong reasons (like money, or to abuse kids further, or “to have a playmate for my Bobby”, etc), or thought that “all kids need is love”, weed themselves out. I have been averaging about four families completing each session.

        Oh, about you writing a book-you could do an e-book, and let people download it for free!

        Reply
        • 48. LooneyTunes  |  January 17, 2015 at 1:02 pm

          im glad someone is weeding out those people. they used to not do that and then you have disaster.
          i cant imagine writing a book… it takes me so long to write the blog… i dunno.
          thanks for telling me how many you train.
          peace.

          Reply
  • 49. Tara dSL  |  January 10, 2015 at 12:05 am

    Another piece of lovely writing, along with nice choices of photos. The dripping paint next to the paragraph with different colors in the text is very visually pleasing.

    I bet there is a place where you can rent a bike. Not that green bike specifically, but at least you could try to get back on and ride again, without making a huge financial investment. Good luck.

    Reply
    • 50. LooneyTunes  |  January 10, 2015 at 12:03 pm

      yeah, you are right. my city has some bike rental places near the touristy things. i bet i could get one and try it out for awhile.
      a couple years ago, my friend KC, rented a bike built for two, when she was trying to get me to ride again. i think that place had
      regular bikes too.

      i often wonder if i am allowed to use those photos that i download from the internet. they arent mine. i dont know the rule on that…

      peace.

      Reply
  • 51. mv49496  |  January 10, 2015 at 12:43 am

    exciting! yeah for green! mV

    Date: Thu, 8 Jan 2015 23:22:56 +0000
    To: mv_49496@hotmail.com

    Reply
    • 52. LooneyTunes  |  January 10, 2015 at 12:03 pm

      green rules!
      i always imagine if the sky were green how cool that would be 🙂

      Reply
  • 53. s00147954  |  January 10, 2015 at 1:00 am

    I’m glad you got something out of the person who hit you – I don’t know a lot of your history from your old posts, but that sounds really sucky and painful. Just goes to show you really are a survivor.

    Be safe! we wouldn’t want anything to happen to you.

    Reply
    • 54. LooneyTunes  |  January 10, 2015 at 12:07 pm

      yeah, i got a settlement because it was the drivers fault.
      my friend’s parents helped me and kind of monitor it too, cause i was always flat broke before that accident. i was even on housing assistence, so they wanted me to be careful with the $$ and not blow it.
      i dont need alot of money, only need money for my pets and rent…. maybe school someday.

      i took alot of my old posts down (from 2009-2014)… they were more about my life, foster care, etc. i wrote alot back then.
      seeing how things go now…
      peace.

      Reply
  • 55. Sarah  |  January 10, 2015 at 2:08 am

    Get the bike. Don’t let fear hold you back.

    By the way, I was really happy to see a positive post from you. I hope this trend of hope continues. 🙂

    Reply
    • 56. LooneyTunes  |  January 10, 2015 at 12:10 pm

      im thinking about it. i might go rent a bike and try it out. my city has bike rental places for tourists, etc.

      sometimes i post positive, sometimes i post negative, sometimes i just post.
      my feelings are all over the place and i used to use my blog as an outlet (2009-2014). then i went private, then i came back.
      im trying it out again.
      as my therapist says “all feelings are acceptable.” LOL

      peace

      Reply
  • 57. meaghanj305  |  January 10, 2015 at 9:45 am

    I bought a used Trek, it’s the most comfortable ride I’ve ever had. I highly recommend it if you decide you are ready to get back on the bike again..good luck 😉

    Reply
    • 58. LooneyTunes  |  January 10, 2015 at 12:12 pm

      cool… do you ride on the streets or trails?
      i literally used my bike to get me everywhere before.
      i never had a Trek before…
      peace.

      Reply
  • 59. mommyof6  |  January 10, 2015 at 9:33 pm

    Way to go Amazing girl!! Contemplating riding a bike again is a huge step!! I am sure you will enjoy riding the bike like you did before. I will be anxiously waiting to read that you are riding your new green bike!
    Keep being Amazing!!
    xoxo

    Reply
    • 60. LooneyTunes  |  January 11, 2015 at 3:14 pm

      LOL – you might have to wait along time. i want to find a rental place first and see what happens…
      hope you and your big family are good.
      peace.

      Reply
  • 61. Another Time  |  January 11, 2015 at 10:08 pm

    I wasn’t gonna comment, but since I remembered my login to leave the other comment, I will!

    Green is my favorite, too. And purple. I work as a therapeutic riding instructor and one of my students always wears green as it is also his favorite color. I think it’s warm and friendly and a good favorite to have on the list. Seems strange to say that last but it’s true in my opinion!

    I wish I had places to bike. I haven’t in a real long time. The terrain where I am now is mostly lots of hills that would bother my knee. Had to have surgery when I was 14 and it still sometimes hurts even after nearing 10 years.

    Reply
    • 62. LooneyTunes  |  January 11, 2015 at 10:27 pm

      i read that green produces calming energy, which is always a good thing to have.
      i dont meet too many people who like green! usually blue or red people.

      sorry about your knee. hills would be tough.
      can you ride the horses up the hills? i imagine that would be fun.
      peace.

      Reply
      • 63. Another Time  |  January 11, 2015 at 10:39 pm

        Yes! I love riding in the hills! My new goal is to ride in the snow, but I missed my chance. A few days ago the snow we have was only powder with little change of turning to ice but it was so very cold that I didn’t want to go out haha.

        My students also love the trail rides. Unless the ground is super muddy/we or the air blistering cold I always take them on trail rides. We try to find deer and turtles in nice weather, and recently someone’s pony and goat! They got loose in the park. Guess the grass really is greener on the other side? That pony was running wild for over a year.

        Reply
        • 64. LooneyTunes  |  January 12, 2015 at 11:17 am

          i think i would be afraid of riding a horse. pretty big.
          it must be pretty to ride in the fall too… when the leaves are changing and its crisp.

          Reply
          • 65. Another Time  |  January 12, 2015 at 1:02 pm

            It can be for the first few times. I’ve worked with some students afraid of all animals, especially horses, and am very careful what horse they are paired with. The extra extra sweet ones that know exactly what’s going on. And I ensure their first meeting is not them being shadowed by a horse, but up high where they can get a good look and pet or brush if they want to try. Sometimes they just get to see the mini horse as their first experience. I’ve seen all come to love/accept the creatures to their great surprise. Even if just for a quick pat and lap led around the arena. It’s an amazing sight for all, volunteers and parents and instructors.

            Animals are awesome for therapy. Personal pets or otherwise. 🙂

          • 66. LooneyTunes  |  January 12, 2015 at 9:06 pm

            i read about horses being used for kids with autism…the horses help the kids come out of there shell.
            i like mini-horses. they are totally cute. 🙂

  • 67. manyofus1980  |  January 12, 2015 at 7:54 am

    You should get it LT! When you can afford it of course…treat yourself to it and go biking again. I’m sure once you start, you’ll enjoy the freedom it brings you again. The first ride is always the hardest! After that, its a breeze! And do wear a helmet! XX

    Reply
    • 68. LooneyTunes  |  January 12, 2015 at 9:07 pm

      still thinking about it. might try and rent a bike and see if i can ride in the city.
      peace.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


COPYRIGHT NOTICE

This blog is copyrighted.
I know that means you can't take my writing without my permission. If you do, something can happen.
Plus, that is just a real shitty thing to do -- take someone's thoughts -- so don't do it!

I am happy if you want to use my writing to help those involved in the foster care system, but please, leave a comment asking if it is ok and letting me know.

Peace.

Copyrighted 2009-2015

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

WAKE UP FOLKS

They help foster kids!!

Click to find out more! -- Support them if you can!


