shrink rewards

January 18, 2015 at 7:47 pm 47 comments

.

my shrink, Dno-motivationr. TC, is a very upbeat positive person… or at least she appears that way.          i see Dr. TC for meds of which i take several, because i am screwed up in the head.  i see Dr. TC like every other week.  well, as most of you know, i lack motivation, mostly because i want to be dead and probably some other reasons too.

Dr. TC is a motivator and this week, she did something that was… well… well….cool.

see, i was supposed to do something (self-care thing) three times last week…..       i thought i failed, 616xGtpasuLbecause i only did it twice.  so when Dr. TC asked, i told the truth that i only did it twice.  instead of making me feel like the complete loser that i am, Dr. TC pulled two stickers off her sheet of stickers, drew smilely faces and stuck them on a piece of paper with Congrads LT!!!

i hung them on my refrigerator on top of her other notes.

Ok, i know what you are thinking — (1) that my shrink is crazy and (2) why would an adult be ……well….. happy over goofy stickers? i can’t answer (1)  and if she is crazy, i like her like that…..but i have deeply thought about (2), so bare with me.Dunce-cap-in-corner

growing up i don’t remember getting any rewards for anything.  i sucked in school, both academically and behaviorally. i don’t even remember seeing a sticker on any of my school work.  i spent more time in the corner or in detention than i did getting rewarded for anything good in school.

i sucked in foster care.  one home i stayed in had a reward system, where we got “points” for doing good and “negative points” for doing bad. it was on the refrigerator. well, guess where LT was?  below the freaking zero line with nothing but negative points.  a couple times i got into the positive points, but i never got to the big reward line, and felt like a failure and a bad kid, because the other kids were getting rewards.  these point systems suck for foster kids who are scared, confused, and used to having no rules or different rules.  they really are not fair.

61129e5fd5725260f67e7240c3ae206a719ba746images

so, i never did sports, therefore i never got a trophy or a medal.  i never did anything competively where a prize would be given. in fact, once i put $5.00 into a lottery machine and my card was a loser card.  the person behind me, hit the jackpot and got a winning card worth $250.  can’t even win when i pay.

the other thing about these stickers is that Dr. TC did exactly what she told me she would do… she followed through with what seemed like an insignificant thing at the time.  seriously she told me if i did the thing i was supposed to do, she would give me stickers.  i thought she was joking or making jokes to get me to laugh, but  noooo….

so, when Dr. TC gave free-vector-laughing-and-pointing-emoticon_133428_Laughing_and_pointing_emoticonme these stickers, i laughed and shook my head in either amazement that she did what she said she would do and most people don’t, or in shock because here was a shrink giving an adult stickers with smileys on them.

 

needless to say, i think i got the first stickers i ever got in my whole life…. and they are hanging on my frig.

616xGtpasuL

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

what is the purpose of therapy? ……….. anyone? Moonlight

47 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jordynn28  |  January 18, 2015 at 8:02 pm

    a happy gif. Good for you on the stickers!!!! aaw yeah.

    Reply
  • 2. Stephanie  |  January 18, 2015 at 8:09 pm

    Heeeeey I think that’s awesome! You don’t suck!!

    Reply
  • 3. sageplant  |  January 18, 2015 at 8:19 pm

    Thanks for that..it was simply great! I’m glad for you, and cool that she did that, and maybe I will remember to do stuff like that too.

    Reply
    • 4. LooneyTunes  |  January 18, 2015 at 8:23 pm

      🙂

      Reply
  • 5. mv49496  |  January 18, 2015 at 8:26 pm

    Happy for you! MV Date: Mon, 19 Jan 2015 00:47:51 +0000 To: mv_49496@hotmail.com

    Reply
  • 6. Beth L.  |  January 18, 2015 at 8:31 pm

    Sounds like she is a fun doctor. Good for you LT.

    Reply
  • 7. Another Time  |  January 18, 2015 at 9:55 pm

    I love stickers too! I keep most of them on the sheets because I get worried about wrecking them, which to some is kinda silly because they’re stickers and all.

    I favor shiny and soft ones. Sometimes, if they can fit under a protective sleeve, I stick the soft ones on my stuff. The shiny ones go under tape so the shiny doesn’t rub off.

    Good job getting the stickers! Real cool she stuck to her word and gave the stickers, too!

    Reply
    • 8. LooneyTunes  |  January 18, 2015 at 10:23 pm

      i never had any stickers before. ive seen them in the stores, but never purchased any.
      these were not shiny or soft, just smilely. 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Author Alys B. Cohen  |  January 18, 2015 at 10:12 pm

    I’ve been reading your blog for a long time, and I think this is the first time I’ve replied. I’m glad your shrink found a way to make you smile. Sure, stickers may seem like a small thing, but those who can take job in the small things as well as the big have more potential to be happy in their lives.

    Reply
    • 10. LooneyTunes  |  January 18, 2015 at 10:24 pm

      thanks for your comment and for reading.
      the stickers and the shrink sure made me smile.
      peace.

      Reply
  • 11. Christi Brown  |  January 18, 2015 at 10:14 pm

    I love this! I feel the same way about stickers. I moved around a lot growing up and missed a lot of school. One year I was in a math class for freshman and I was a junior, well all the other students got stickers each week. The two I earned all year made me feel like a million bucks. And then a couple years ago I was trying to loose weight. I set goals and rewarded myself with stickers. It worked! I was “ahem” 30 something! Do what works for you!! (I appreciate your blog, my husband and I will sign a contract to be foster parents this week)

    Reply
    • 12. LooneyTunes  |  January 18, 2015 at 10:26 pm

      thanks for your note. and thanks for signing up to be foster parents!
      i am thinking of buying some stickers and doing something with them.
      i am glad you have memories of getting a couple stickers during all your moves.
      funny how little things seem to matter so much at times…
      peace.

      Reply
  • 13. tina  |  January 18, 2015 at 10:37 pm

    I love reading you blogs, as a foster parent of 15 years .I am always learning. When I read your blogs I receive so much from you.i just cant put in words how thankful i am your in my life even though its throw a blog .Thanks for sharing so much of your personal life with so many people and change the world in such powerful way. 🙂

    Reply
    • 14. LooneyTunes  |  January 19, 2015 at 9:04 am

      thanks for reading but more thanks to you for being a foster parent for along time!
      the world needs more good foster parents that stick around..
      thanks for your kind words,
      peace.

      Reply
  • 15. sheila  |  January 18, 2015 at 10:52 pm

    just lovin all your posts lately. the hair, the vacation, this sticker one! (the records one made me angry though 😉 you are so inspiring.

    Reply
    • 16. LooneyTunes  |  January 19, 2015 at 9:04 am

      well remember these when my posts get dark and dreary. LOL
      peace.

      Reply
  • 17. Foster Mom in Training  |  January 19, 2015 at 12:04 am

    😄 Consistency and follow through. What a great doc. 🙂

    Reply
    • 18. LooneyTunes  |  January 19, 2015 at 9:05 am

      she is nutty too, but i like that.
      🙂

      Reply
  • 19. Linka  |  January 19, 2015 at 12:33 am

    Hi LT! I think the doc is cool! And you’re just amazing! Little things matter a lot all the time. It is the little things that keep me going, lift me up when I get down 🙂

    I have to tell you, I was really disappointed yesterday when only one person showed up for the pre-service training class, but, wow, this lady is so awesome! She is ready to soak up the things I tell her that I have learned from you, just like a sponge! I will tell her (and every other FP I work with, lol) about stickers (I LOVE stickers and like to use them on calendars and training flyers).

    Reply
    • 20. LooneyTunes  |  January 19, 2015 at 9:10 am

      wow, i cant believe only one person came. but you know what, maybe it is a quality person who will make a great foster parent!
      quality over quantity….. right?

      i may go buy some stickers today just to put them around – LOL
      peace.

      Reply
  • 21. ritalee8383  |  January 19, 2015 at 1:00 am

    This post made me smile.

    Reply
    • 22. LooneyTunes  |  January 19, 2015 at 9:11 am

      me too 🙂

      Reply
  • 23. onemorewithus  |  January 19, 2015 at 1:42 am

    🙂 I think we are all pretty excited for you!! Go LT!

    Reply
  • 24. s00147954  |  January 19, 2015 at 1:50 am

    Aw LT I’m so happy for you 🙂 its about time someone recognised your brilliance! heh. The foster kiddo I mentor loves stickers too – I see his eyes light up when he gets them and it’s so special (he’s managed to cover an entire fridge door with them, with no end in sight).

    I think you’ll keep those stickers forever 🙂

    Reply
    • 25. LooneyTunes  |  January 19, 2015 at 10:11 am

      its funny that something so “small” has so much meaning for people.
      let the stickers cover the frig! … and the furniture… and the walls…. (ok, maybe not the walls!)
      peace.

      Reply
  • 26. momma2abby  |  January 19, 2015 at 1:56 am

    My mother just bought some star stickers. She tells me that she brushes her teeth every** night, but not every morning. So her plan to motivate herself is to put a star on her bathroom mirror every time she brushes them. Then when she looks in the mirror she will see herself surrounded by stars. I think stickers work for a lot of folks.

    Reply
    • 27. LooneyTunes  |  January 19, 2015 at 10:12 am

      hey that is a good idea. to buy some stickers and put them where you need them to be seen.
      its amazing that something so “small” has so much meaning or power.
      i may go buy myself some stickers and try your mom’s tactic.
      thanks,
      peace.

      Reply
  • 28. Elizabeth  |  January 19, 2015 at 8:39 am

    Thank you for reminding me to give the people in my life a sticker .. Including myself !

    Reply
    • 29. LooneyTunes  |  January 19, 2015 at 10:17 am

      yes, everyone should get a sticker whenever something deserves one. i didnt want to say when someone is good, because i think stickers could be for improvement too. for example, when i was young, i used to write on the walls. once, instead of writing all over the walls, i wrote on one wall and then on paper… i should have gotten a sticker for that improvement. 🙂
      go buy some nice stickers and hand them out, starting with you first.
      peace.

      Reply
  • 30. drjac52  |  January 19, 2015 at 9:28 am

    Woo hoo good for you! I’m not sure you remember but in one of my ramblings about the purpose of therapy I mentioned that little child within. That is what your reaction to the stickers is all about LT! And don’t it feel good… You, the grownup made that happen when you were honest about the ‘twice, but not three times’…seems to me to be a double done deal!

    Reply
    • 31. LooneyTunes  |  January 19, 2015 at 10:26 am

      ha – my shrink had a blast with it too.
      i happen to have lots of kids within (DID), but this feeling was from the traditional child within.
      it was me getting the stickers … if you get what i mean.
      i am always honest with the shrink. would be a waste otherwise… you know..
      peace.

      Reply
      • 32. drjac52  |  January 19, 2015 at 2:18 pm

        Yeah…I get it

        Reply
      • 33. drjac52  |  January 19, 2015 at 7:57 pm

        And…”all of the kids within” hopefully will respect the feeling that you have and maybe even ‘get it’

        Reply
        • 34. LooneyTunes  |  January 19, 2015 at 8:20 pm

          i have no idea what the kids within say or do. i just see or deal with the results.
          like toys in my apartment. i get all these pocket pets in my apartment and playmobile sets.
          they dont get it… cause i dont have the $$ for that stuff.
          they can have sticekrs!
          🙂

          Reply
  • 35. manyofus1980  |  January 19, 2015 at 12:19 pm

    Go you LT..woot woot! Stickers :d I love stickers. I love the felty ones. Ofr the ones that smell nice. Scratch and sniff ones I think they are. I bet the kids loved them too? I know ours would! XX

    Reply
    • 36. LooneyTunes  |  January 19, 2015 at 7:56 pm

      i think i am going to buy some stickers for the kids to play with.
      i never had any, although maybe they dont want them because they manage to get other toys….
      peace.

      Reply
      • 37. manyofus1980  |  January 20, 2015 at 9:57 am

        I bet they would love them lt

        Reply
  • 38. Elise  |  January 19, 2015 at 2:03 pm

    That’s awesome about the stickers. When I worked at a school, I made sure that all my students got stickers, even the “bad” ones. They needed the stickers the most. But now I feel bad about the ones who misbehaved and didn’t get the stickers as often. Stickers are fun for grown-ups too. You can never grow out of stickers. You should see all the awesome ones they have! They even have fuzzy animal stickers.

    Reply
    • 39. LooneyTunes  |  January 19, 2015 at 8:05 pm

      im going to buy some stickers since i never had any. maybe i will give my shrink one. – LOL

      Reply
  • 40. becca395  |  January 19, 2015 at 3:24 pm

    So cool that she followed through with what she said she would do. Stickers are awesome! I am happy for you LT, and thank you for sharing!

    Reply
    • 41. LooneyTunes  |  January 19, 2015 at 8:08 pm

      yeah, like i can trust her word…even though i thought she was kidding.
      stickers rule.
      peace.

      Reply
  • 42. Admirer  |  January 19, 2015 at 3:31 pm

    🙂 Yeah LT WTG. 2 outta 3 aint bad!

    Reply
    • 43. LooneyTunes  |  January 19, 2015 at 8:09 pm

      now i have to do 5 by the time i see her next. whew…
      …better get 5 stickers if i can do it.
      🙂

      Reply
  • 44. ghostinthetherapysession  |  January 20, 2015 at 7:01 am

    This really made me smile. I never got stickers at school.. so recently Ive been buying my own.. i put them in my diarys around my writing, i got all different kinds for different moods! and i stick them on my phone 🙂
    Its the little things! x

    Reply
    • 45. LooneyTunes  |  January 20, 2015 at 9:33 am

      stickers rule. im going to buy some
      peace.

      Reply
  • 46. angelamarshall2013  |  January 20, 2015 at 7:46 am

    Congrats LT! 🙂

    Reply
    • 47. LooneyTunes  |  January 20, 2015 at 9:40 am

      thanks angela. hope things are going well and more kids are getting families!
      peace.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


COPYRIGHT NOTICE

This blog is copyrighted.
I know that means you can't take my writing without my permission. If you do, something can happen.
Plus, that is just a real shitty thing to do -- take someone's thoughts -- so don't do it!

I am happy if you want to use my writing to help those involved in the foster care system, but please, leave a comment asking if it is ok and letting me know.

Peace.

Copyrighted 2009-2015

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

WAKE UP FOLKS

They help foster kids!!

Click to find out more! -- Support them if you can!


